Feb. 14 4:41pm

I’m at BV. The day started late and I liked it. Went out last night and had a great time. Woke up and did whatever the hell I wanted to do at whatever time I wanted. So speed dating last night. Felt super jipped. Some of the girls there were actually employees and something I wanted to say to some of the girls was this:

Do you know how hard it is to want to meet someone genuinely? Do you understand that some men in there actually believe that they’re meeting someone that they’re connecting with and you fucking start the night off by lying so that you could make the event work. Some of you even had boyfriends. Wow. How low do you have to fucking go? Probably the last time I go speed dating for your promo team. Stupid. So stupid.

Last night I met a chef. She was amazing. A culinary artist. Ambitious and driven and has a mouth for things. Super fucking awesome. We had brunch at tweet and that place was the shit. Not to mention that she amazed me by just taking one lick and immediately naming all the ingredients of a recipe. Every artist is an artist in their own right and we all struggle as much as we do. Definitely wouldn’t mind going out with her again.

I started today late and I didn’t care. I definitely want to try and make up for it by doing all my artist shit today and maybe even some errands. Groceries and working out are a must. Need to sleep early tonight. A lot will be done tomorrow.

So I’m about to get real busy in a quick minute and I can’t slow down. I’m putting things down on the back burner and that’s not cool. I need to start spear heading these projects and make them happen. I feel bad that I keep flaking out on Elgin. He’s been really awesome to me and letting me join Elephant Rebellion that i feel like tomorrow I need to sacrifice one day to help out ER. I don’t want to be the guy that hijacks their plans though but I know myself and I really should be careful about stepping on toes. I don’t deserve to be conducting the workshop my way because I haven’t been to one meeting. I need to understand my place and show them that I’m here to help.

Paid for second city today. Level 2. The continued investment in my art is a necessity. I must keep growing. I must retain and appreciate. I must keep finding the small details to be a better player. I can’t take anything for granted. I’ve been considering buying and app for my phone that works my brain and tracking it. Also finding time to sit down and read the newspaper at work so that I can at least be informed of what’s going on in the world that day. I must use my resources.

Treating myself is an investment as well. I can’t get mad at how much I spend when I go out. Yes it sucks. Yes it hits my wallet. Yes it’s fun. But I can’t forget to treat myself. I can’t forget to take care of my sanity. Speed dating is an experience that gets judged but I did it with a fellow IMPROVISOR. We learned and grew and experienced something that most people don’t do willingly. Live life kids. Need to live in order to grow.

Teej,
You need to get on the ball. Play time is done. You had fun. You will continue to have fun but today you need to work on you. Both in the fun and the work. We got a lot to get done today and you have to wake up early tomorrow. Hey. Proud of you son. Keep doing what you’re doing and don’t give up. You had a great time last night. Let it roll into your work and remember: play happy.

Standard

Leave a comment